Our OCA Awards honour chiropractors and professionals who inspire, deliver exceptional health care and lead our profession forward.

OCA Awards banner

Celebrating Excellence in the Chiropractic Profession in Ontario

Our annual OCA Awards honour Ontario chiropractors and professionals who inspire, deliver exceptional health care, and lead our profession forward.

Every year, you have an opportunity to nominate chiropractic professionals, team members, leaders and advocates who deserve to be recognized and celebrated. When you nominate a chiropractor for an award, you share the story of their professional achievements, as well as the evolution of chiropractic care, across our province. For most awards, anyone can submit a nomination, including a health team member, a patient, or a researcher.

Tell us who inspires you

Do you know of a chiropractor who delivers exceptional health care? Or embodies the breadth and depth of our profession? Or sets an example for others to follow? Each year, you have an opportunity to nominate chiropractic professionals, leaders, and advocates who deserve to be recognized for all they do.

Awards Selection Committee

Learn who is on our Awards Selection Committee, their aims, criteria, and expectations. (If you’re interested in joining the OCA Awards Selection Committee, stay tuned for application opportunities in Summer 2023)

Award Eligibility

To be eligible for an award in each category, a nominee must:

  • Be an OCA and CCO member in good standing (except for Chiropractic Health Assistant (CHA) and Chiropractic Champion Award nominees)
  • Model behaviour that reflects the spirit, integrity or relevance of the award and upholds the highest professional and ethical standards
  • Not be a full-time employee of the OCA, a member of the OCA Board of Directors or a current member of the OCA Awards Committee

Award Recipients’ Commitments

Award recipients agree to participate in OCA events and other communication opportunities, including in-person speaking, webinars, attendance at other events, writing articles for the OCA, or appearing in videos as requested. The minimum commitment for the year is six hours. Recipients of the Chiropractor of the Year and the Dr. Michael Brickman Heart and Hands Award may expect additional commitment time.

Award Presentations

Each year, our OCA Awards are presented at the annual OCA Awards Gala. This year, we’ll host the on Saturday, January 28, 2023.  Stay tuned for more details on joining us for the 2022 OCA Awards Celebration.

Learn more about the Awards Gala and past award recipients.

Watch for updates about OCA Awards on this page, in the OCA Roundup bulletin, and on our social media channels.

OCA Award Categories

All eight of our awards celebrate excellence in the chiropractic profession in Ontario. For each category, we describe the award, and the criteria award nominees must meet. 

Please note, due to the distinctive and special nature of each award, we reserve the right not to select a recipient in any or all award categories in a given year. 

Select from the list of award categories below to learn more and submit a nomination:

Chiropractor of the Year Award

Chiropractic Champion Award

Chiropractic Health Assistant (CHA) of the Year Award

Early Career Chiropractor Award (previously the Recent Graduate Award)

Patient Care Award

Research and Academic Award

Members Choice Awards

Years of Service

Each year we honour our valued members through our 60-, 50-, 40- and 25-year milestones.
Please join us in celebrating and congratulating our Years of Service recipients. Click / tap the button below to view the previous year’s recipients.

Award Revocation

Learn about our OCA Award Revocation Policy and Procedures.